Advanced Search
More Features

Sign up for our newsletter:
To learn more Click Here
Site Sponsors
Article Options
Popular Articles
  1. Brampton Board of Trade CEO leaving
  2. Brampton Youth Forum a Success
  3. Brampton City Council Abandons the Fight to Protect Natural Areas
  4. Peel Board Students Tackle Tough Legal Issues at Annual Mock Trial Tournament
  5. Stay the Course Action Lacks Stimulus
No popular articles found.
 »  Home  »  Sports & Leisure  »  Troops Honoured at Awards Ceremony
Troops Honoured at Awards Ceremony
By Brampton Battalion | Published  06/5/2009 | Sports & Leisure | Rating:
Brampton Battalion
The Brampton Battalion are a junior ice hockey team in the Ontario Hockey League.  Battalion Headquarters: Brampton Battalion Hockey Club, 7575 Kennedy Rd. South, Brampton, Ontario L6W 4T2 Phone: (905) 874-2393 Email:  Brampton native Stuart McComish has served as the Battalion's website co-ordinator since Februrary 2000.  Visit the Brampton Battalion for more information. 

View all articles by Brampton Battalion
Brampton - Cody Hodgson, Evgeny Grachev and Matt Duchene were recognized in absentia Wednesday as the Ontario Hockey League conducted its annual awards ceremony.

Other commitments kept the Battalion trio, which received four awards, from attending the event at the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Hodgson won the Red Tilson Trophy as the Most Outstanding Player and the William Hanley Trophy as the Most Sportsmanlike Player. Grachev took the Emms Family Award as Rookie of the Year, and Duchene captured the Bobby Smith Trophy as Scholastic Player of the Year.

"When he first heard he had won this award, he was totally surprised, then honoured and humbled when he thought of all the great players in the OHL," Chris Hodgson, Cody's father, said in accepting the Red Tilson Trophy. "He had the best of both worlds in Brampton, both academically and on the hockey side.

"But he would be the first to say this was a team award. He played with a great group of guys. Scott Abbott has put together a great organization, and Cody played on a team with great character. He loved coming to the rink every day."

Hodgson, 19 since Feb. 18, is the second Battalion player to win the Red Tilson Trophy, joining fellow centre Wojtek Wolski, who was honoured in 2005-06. Wolski also was recognized as the league's Most Sportsmanlike Player that season.

Hodgson, from Markham, Ont., finished fourth in OHL scoring with 43 goals and 49 assists for 92 points in 53 games. He added 11 goals and 20 assists for 31 points in 21 playoff games.

Hodgson, who led the league with a club-record 11 game-winning goals and posted a club-record 23-game points streak that was the OHL's longest, was recognized as the Canadian Hockey League's Player of the Year at the Memorial Cup tournament last month at Rimouski, Que.

"The entire organization is extremely proud of what Cody has accomplished, as indeed we are of all the Battalion award winners," said owner Abbott.

Russian import Grachev, 19 since Feb. 21, topped CHL rookies in scoring with 40 goals and 40 assists for 80 points in 60 games, finishing 13th in OHL scoring. Left winger Grachev contributed 11 goals and 14 assists for 25 points in 19 playoff games.

Centre Duchene, who turned 18 on Jan. 16, earned the most illustrious of three OHL academic awards for his Grade 12 work at Brampton's Turner Fenton Secondary School. While maintaining an average of 85 percent in six courses, including five university prep courses, Duchene produced 31 goals and 48 assists for 79 points in 53 games. He added 14 goals and 12 assists for 26 points in 21 playoff games.

Hodgson is with the American Hockey League's Manitoba Moose, who are playing the Hershey Bears in the Calder Cup final. Grachev is on vacation in Dubai with his mother, Ludmila, while Duchene was en route from Pittsburgh after attending Game 3 of the Stanley Cup final with other top prospects for the National Hockey League's 2009 Entry Draft.

Other Battalion players to have taken OHL year-end awards are John Hughes, who won the Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy as the league's top-scoring right winger in 2007-08, and defenceman Jay Harrison, who received the Jack Ferguson Award in 1998 as the first player chosen in the OHL Priority Selection.

How would you rate the quality of this article?
1 2 3 4 5
Poor Excellent

Enter the security code shown below:

Add comment